Advent Devotional: Wednesday, December 21st

(Wondering what this is? For more information, see the introduction.)

The Lord is my light and my salvation;
whom shall I fear?
The Lord is the stronghold of my life;
of whom shall I be afraid?
Hear, O Lord, when I cry aloud,
be gracious to me and answer me!
Come, my heart says, seek his face!
Your face, Lord, do I seek.
Do not hide your face from me.
I believe that I shall see the goodness of the Lord
in the land of the living.
Wait for the Lord;
be strong, and let your heart take courage;
wait for the Lord! – Psalm 27

It is so easy to get distracted. We want to do the good and right thing but our attention is pulled in another direction and the opportunity passes. This passage pulls us back to our true desire, bringing us back to our search for God “Your face, Lord, do I seek.” We are encouraged to hope for the goodness that we long for, to take courage during the wait for better times, and to rely on the strength of God in the meantime. Waiting, as we do during Advent, can give us the time and opportunity to retreat inward, growing closer to ourselves and to God, and to let distractions fall away.

Stars, keep the watch. When night is dim
One more light the bowl shall brim,
Shining beyond the frosty weather,
Bright as sun and moon together.
People, look east and sing today:
Love, the star, is on the way.

This Advent devotional is intended to help you enter into the season of advent. We hope you enjoy it! Many thanks to the Rev. Paul Jennings for his help putting these reflections together.

Leave a Reply

